ETIAS, what you should know


Special permit to travel to Europe

If you are a Colombian citizen and plan to travel to Europe, you may need a special permit called ETIAS. In this article, we will explain what ETIAS is and how to obtain it in order to enter Europe without problems.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System.

It is an online travel authorization system to be implemented in 2023 for citizens of visa-exempt countries wishing to visit Schengen Area countries in Europe.

The ETIAS system will verify the information provided by applicants and determine whether they are eligible to enter Europe.

ETIAS is not a visa, but a prior authorization that allows access to Europe for tourism, business or transit purposes.

Why is ETIAS required?

The objective of ETIAS is to improve security in Europe and reduce the risks of terrorism and serious crime.

The system will collect information on travelers prior to their arrival in Europe, enabling European authorities to detect potential threats and take preventive measures if necessary.

In addition, ETIAS simplifies the entry process for visa-exempt travelers, streamlining border controls and improving the overall travel experience.

How to apply for ETIAS?

To apply for ETIAS, Colombian citizens must complete an online form and pay an application fee of 7 euros.

It is important to provide accurate and complete information about the purpose of the trip, itinerary and criminal record, if any.

Once the application has been completed and the fee has been paid, the information provided will be reviewed. If the application is approved, an ETIAS travel authorization will be issued that will be valid for three years or until the applicant’s passport expires.

Which countries in Europe are included in ETIAS?

ETIAS applies to the 26 countries of the Schengen Area, which include Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

In summary, if you are a Colombian citizen planning to visit Europe for tourism, business or transit, you will probably need an ETIAS permit.

The application is quick and easy to complete online, and it is recommended to do so well in advance to avoid delays in approval. ETIAS will improve the security and travel experience in Europe for all foreign nationals.